Vegan Mint and Pea Risotto

dscn1422

This vegan risotto is adapted from the book Keep it Vegan by Aine Carlin. which is a great book if you’re from the UK because the measurements are all understandable! This risotto is my favourite recipe from the book and I’ve made it many times. The risotto is really delicious and warming; it’s especially good if you’re feeling cold or you’re all sniffly! It also heats up pretty well.

It’s pretty easy to make but as with most recipes I have tweaked it slightly. I do find that the amount of liquid she suggest (one litre) is a little too much and can result in porridge-like risotto! I use slightly less than this now and I have much better results. I also don’t add much oil and salt to the mint dressing because it’s not particularly healthy. The vegetable stock adds a lot of salt so I wouldn’t recommend adding more. If you don’t like garlic you can definitely omit it. I would advise keeping the onion though as it provides a nice bit of flavour. 

Risotto Ingredients
Vegetable stock
200g Arborio rice
200g Frozen Peas
Two good handfuls of Spinach
1 Lemon
1 Onion
1 Clove of Garlic
Handful of Mint

Risotto Method
1. Boil the kettle and measure out just under 1 litre of boiling water. Add the vegetable stock to the water and stir until it has disintegrated.

2. Chop the onion and garlic and gently fry in a large pan. When browned slightly, add the Arborio rice.

3. Start adding one large spoonful (one at a time) of the vegetable stock. On a medium heat keep stirring until the rice has completely absorbed the liquid. When it has add another spoonful; repeat until you have no liquid left. This will take quite a while, usually around 25 minutes.

4. When all the liquid has been used, pour in the frozen peas and stir.

5. Add the spinach! I like to have a lot of spinach in my risotto but it’s really down to personal taste.

6. Pour in the lemon juice.

7. Sprinkle on the mint dressing.

8. Enjoy!

